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FROM: Robert D. Charlton, Superintendent 

  

RE:  Unlicensed Consumer Lending Transactions 

 

The purpose of this Alert is to bring to the attention of consumers as well as financial 

institutions and enterprises conducting business in Arizona the licensing requirements for 

consumer lenders. 

 

The law allowing payday loans by deferred presentment companies (also known as 

“payday lenders”) in Arizona expired on June 30, 2010.  Beginning July 1, 2010, any 

consumer lender (including former payday lenders) issuing consumer lender loans must 

be licensed in compliance with A.R.S. §§ 6-601 et seq. As a general rule, a consumer 

loan rate of 36% per annum on the initial $3,000 of the original principal amount, and a 

consumer loan rate of 24% per annum on the part of the principal amount greater than 

$3,000, this rate may not be exceeded.  See A.R.S. § 6-632. 

 

The Department has received complaints indicating that Arizona consumers are offered 

online payday loans or consumer loans by companies that are not licensed by the 

Department, some of which are located in other states or claim to be owned by Indian 

tribes, and that charge Arizona consumers an interest rate well in excess of that permitted 

under Arizona law.  These companies are not in compliance with Arizona law.  Note that 

pursuant to A.R.S. § 6-613(B), any consumer lender loan that is made by a person who is 

required to be licensed pursuant to this chapter but who is not licensed is void.  This 

means that the unlicensed person making consumer lender loans has no right to collect, 

receive or retain any principal, finance charges or other fees in connection with that 

consumer lender loan. 

 

Note that persons registered with the Department as Advance Fee Loan Brokers pursuant 

to A.R.S. §§ 6-1301 et seq. are not exempt from the licensing requirements for consumer 

lenders if they advertise to make or procure, solicit or hold themselves out to make or 

procure, or make or procure consumer lender loans to consumers in this state. 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/6/00601.htm&Title=6&DocType=ARS
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/6/00632.htm&Title=6&DocType=ARS
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/6/00613.htm&Title=6&DocType=ARS
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/6/01301.htm&Title=6&DocType=ARS
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A.R.S. § 6-603(A): Unless exempt under section 6-602, a person, whether located in this 

state or in another state, shall not engage in the business of a consumer lender without 

first being licensed as a consumer lender by the superintendent. 

 

A.R.S. § 6-601(5):  "Consumer lender" means a person that advertises to make or 

procure, solicits or holds itself out to make or procure, or makes or procures consumer 

lender loans to consumers in this state.  

 

A.R.S. § 6-601(6): "Consumer lender loans" means consumer loans, consumer revolving 

loans and home equity revolving loans. 

 

A.R.S. § 6-601(7):  "Consumer loan" means the direct closed end loan of money in an 

amount of ten thousand dollars or less that is subject to a finance charge. For the purpose 

of determining whether a consumer loan is ten thousand dollars or less only the principal 

amount of the loan shall be considered and not any finance charges or other fees allowed 

pursuant to section 6-635. 

 

A.R.S. § 6-601(9):  "Consumer revolving loan" means an open end revolving loan that is 

established pursuant to an agreement with an agreed on credit limit that does not exceed 

ten thousand dollars, that the consumer may pay in full at any time but has the privilege 

of paying in installments and that contemplates or provides that advances may be 

obtained from time to time by the consumer, through checks, drafts, items, credit access 

devices, orders for the payment of money, evidences of debt or similar means, whether or 

not negotiable. 

 

A.R.S. § 6-613(B): Any consumer lender loan that is made by a person who is required to 

be licensed pursuant to this chapter but who is not licensed is void, and the person 

making that consumer lender loan has no right to collect, receive or retain any principal, 

finance charges or other fees in connection with that consumer lender loan. 

 

To find out if the consumer lender is licensed in Arizona, please refer to the list of 

licensees published on the Department’s website at www.AZDFI.gov, Lookup a License. 
  

 

To file a complaint against an unlicensed consumer lender engaging in transactions with 

Arizona consumers, please go to www.azdfi.gov under File a complaint and send it to the 

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions, 2910 N. 44th Street, Suite 310, Phoenix, 

AZ 85018. 

 

To file a complaint against a tribal-run payday lender, you may also contact the Federal 

Trade Commission at http://www.ftc.gov/ftc/contact.shtm and the Consumer Financial 

Protection Bureau http://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/. 

 

For questions regarding this Regulatory Alert, please contact the Arizona Department of 

Financial Institutions, Financial Services Division, at (602) 771-2777. 
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